Healthcare Types

By Minnie Collins | Types

Mar 21

Healthcare is an organized way of medical care delivered by the healthcare providers in order of maintaining the health and well-being of the individual. Professional providers may be found in psychology, dentistry, nursing, medicine, pharmacy, etc. This act is consisted of taking necessary medical procedures to improve person’s body and mental functioning.

Health service delivery systems are responsible for providing needed care to individuals, families, communities and whole population in general. It is not only patient-centered care which is focusing on the individual seeking care, but there is also people-centred care which is focusing on the importance of community in shaping health service and policies.

There is a whole spectrum of care, starting from preventions to diagnostic, promotions, rehabilitations to care types like home care, long-term care and hospital care and similar. They all exist to provide efficient help and improve the efficiency of the health service delivery system. To make it all easier to understand here is the information about three basic types of healthcare which could get a clearer picture. They are made by the patient condition.

Primary healthcare

Its primary goal is better health for all. It is focused on health equity beyond the traditional healthcare system as the first point of contact for healthcare for most people. It deals with a wide range of psychological, social and physical problems. It is increasing rapidly developing in both the developed and developing countries. It is increased by the growing number of patients with diseases like diabetes, back pain, anxiety, and depression. Five elements are made by World Health Organization to achieve the ultimate goals in this sector. Integration of health into all sectors, an adaptation of health services to individual’s needs, the formation of universal coverage forms by reducing social disparities, increased stakeholder participation and seeking collaborative models of policy dialogue are these five key elements.

Secondary healthcare

Patients with primary health care are referred further to a medical specialist who does not have direct contact with patients. These can be cardiologists, urologists, dermatologists, etc. This policy may vary from country to country.

There are two systems in this level of healthcare. District and County Health System, where the first one is focused on child health and maternity care and the second one, which receives referrals from the District system, providing general medicine, obstetrics, gynecologic services and general surgeries. This one is available 24 hours a day.

Tertiary healthcare

Is like the third level of the health system which receives a referral from primary and secondary healthcare providing advanced medical investigation and treatment. For example services like burn treatment, plastic surgery, neurosurgery, cancer treatments and cardiac surgeries are typical services in this area.

About the Author